What I do and do not eat

Hello,
When I tell some people that I’m now vegan and following the Engine 2 diet they wonder what I do and do not eat. So here’s a list.

The Engine 2 diet which is vegan has these rules which I follow:
-no animals (meat, chicken, fish). Basically if it has a face, I don’t eat it.
-no dairy products or anything from animals. (no butter, milk, cheese, etc. Animals and animal based products contain alot of cholesterol and can lead to disease)
-no oil (fattening)
-try to eat foods with 25% or less fat.

So I eat:
-organic fruits (raspberries, bananas, apples, kiwi, strawberries, blueberries, etc.)
-vegetables (sweet potatoes, spinach, romaine lettuce, carrots, cabbage, cucumbersĀ and other vegetables. I try to eat at least one salad a day.)
-whole grains
-nuts and seeds
-beans/legumes
-herbs & spices
-Meat replacements (seitan) and dairy replacements (for non-dairy milk I like Almond Milk)
-nutritional yeast (found at health food store. It acts like a cheese replacement and has alot of B12 in it which is the one ingredient vegetarians/vegans are concerned with the most)

*I want the majority of what I eat to be organic fruits and vegetables.

Personal food dislikes:
-I also don’t eat soy/tofu or soy based products since I heard that soy is bad for you and can also affect hormones.
-I also don’t like: broccoli, mushrooms, beets, coconut (sometimes organic coconut tastes okay), wine, coffee, tempeh, prunes or raisins.
-I’m also trying to reduce my consumption of rice since that is very mucus forming in the body.

Good websites for healthy recipes:
http://www.fatfreevegan.com
http://www.vegweb.com
http://www.engine2academy.com (they have a free recipe forum that follows the diet)

Favorite restaurants to eat at:
-Any place that has a salad buffet where I can make my own salad
such as Sweet Tomatoes, Jason’s Deli, Ruby Tuesday, etc.

By the way, I’ve also been going to “Weight Watchers at Work” meetings since january and am keeping track of my daily WW points. I like the support.

Leave a Reply

